Well-Watered

by Impact Church

Isaiah 58:11 “The Lord will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.”

I prefer to water my flowers early in the morning as the sun is rising to take its prominent position in the sky. I pour from the watering can until water overflows from the bottom and spills across my sidewalk. I fill to the point of excess because I know the afternoon is coming. The temperatures will inevitably rise and before the day ends the sun’s harsh rays will have direct access. There is nowhere to hide from the heat once afternoon arrives, but when the roots are well-watered they endure the heat with remarkable resilience.

As I was reading Isaiah 58 I was struck by the beauty of the promise found in verse 11. It says, “you will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.”  As I studied the scriptures my heart leapt and I thought, “I want to be like a well-watered garden, too!” If I am totally honest though, I haven’t always run to the right source to satisfy my thirsty soul. I’ve ran to Instagram and popular Christian blogs to read good words when my Bible offers me God’s words. I’ve ran to people to receive affirmation when God’s approval of me is settled. Running to anything but God will always leave us spiritually dehydrated.

There is a better way.

There is hope for every dry place in our hearts. There is bread and water to receive from God’s word. We have unlimited access to the nourishment we so desperately need, but each of us must decide what source we will eat and drink from. One thing is certain- God is the only thing that can satisfy our relentless search for satisfaction.

Before Christ we were planted in a desert. Our environment was dry, harsh, and barren. We were surviving but thriving was not a possibility. Roots draw strength from what’s beneath the surface. The life of the plant depends on the root’s access to water. Where there is no water there can be no strength.

Upon accepting the Lord as our Savior, a breathtaking transplant occurred; we were taken out of the kingdom of darkness and transplanted into the kingdom of light. Now we are planted in good soil with the potential to live well-watered, drinking deeply from the word of God and finding our satisfaction in Him alone. Sweet friends, He really is all we need.

Jeremiah 29:13 says, “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” When we seek Him He faithfully provides what’s needed for us to be strong and productive people of God. When we feel weak- He gives us strength. When we feel insufficient- He reminds us He’s with us. When we feel frantic- He whispers peace to the storm within. When we hunger and thirst- He waters us with His holy word. He is able and willing to be the regular source of water we need to gracefully endure the heat of life with resilience, but we have to choose Him. Choose Him over mindlessly scrolling through our Facebook newsfeed. Choose Him over a Netflix binge. Choose Him over reading the book by the popular evangelical author. Let’s live well-watered as we consistently choose Him, and His precious Word, over every other thing.

