No Matter What

by Impact Church

It’s 6 am and darkness still covers the ground. I sleepily shuffle to my Keurig and impatiently wait 30 seconds while the water heats up so that I can push that glorious blue flashing button. After my liquid joy, known simply as coffee to some, is made I make my way to the bar stool to sit. I open up my leather bound bible and begin blissfully reading Psalm 81:1, “Sing for joy to God our strength; shout aloud to….” Suddenly the sound of real life shouting from my tiny tribe pierces through the silence and alas my quiet has abruptly come to an end, again.

This is my everyday reality. Waking up early before my children do and spending time alone in God’s word truly is my jam; however, more often than not it just doesn’t happen. I live in a season of noise.

What about you? Perhaps you are in a season where your daily grind is noisy. The kids are crying. The bill collectors are calling. The boss is talking. The dog is barking. You’re being pushed and pulled in 1000 different directions and you long for the tranquility and peace that accompanies the quiet.

If you’re like me you also long for quiet “inside.” Regardless of our external reality we all know what it’s like for it to be noisy internally.

One recent example of the external directly affecting the internal involves my daughter who behaved in an unacceptable manner. As I sat her in time-out her tear-filled eyes searched mine and I knew what she was looking for. The question in her eyes was clear. I have asked my Father the same one; “Do you still love me?”

It’s amazing how much noise arises due to questions concerning love. She’s only two so she doesn’t yet know that from the moment I discovered her existence I’ve loved her fiercely. She doesn’t have to work for it and she could never do anything wrong enough to make me stop. My love will never be dependent on her actions because it was there before I ever held her in my arms. Likewise, my friend, Jesus called us loved before we ever drew our first breath. Before we accepted Him as our Savior, preached a sermon, led worship or served as a greeter. In fact, scripture bears out this remarkable truth: “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8 NLT)

I have spent a ton of time gazing at the Father with the same question my daughter had; feeling as though I’ve messed up too much and been extended too many second chances, convinced that my actions could somehow cause Him to change His mind about me, or believing that I need to work harder at being a loveable daughter. I have often allowed the noise in my heart to be louder than the truth of His voice; mistakenly afraid that today may be the day His well of love runs dry.

I got on my knees that day in front of my daughter and asked her to look at me. When I said the words, “mommy loves you no matter what” her eyes lit up. The tears ceased and she was quieted instantly by my affirmation of love.

Zephaniah 3:17 says, “The Lord your God is in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” My prayer for us is that we would allow the truth of God’s love to quiet our hearts. The definition of quiet is “free of turmoil, absence of disturbance; peaceful, and still.” It is possible to live in such a way that even if our external environment is noisy, internally our hearts experience the quiet peace that comes from knowing we are loved by God. How wonderful it is that His wellspring of love will never run dry!

Ever since that day I make it my business to tell my kids daily, “I love you, no matter what.” Let’s lean in today and hear our Heavenly Father declare that same truth to us. We are loved, no matter what.

