Anchored In Christ

by Impact Church

My heart was pounding, my hands were shaking, and tears were cascading down my face. I sat paralyzed, staring at my laptop for far longer than I’d care to admit. With each flash of the cursor at the top of the empty word document, my heart was being assaulted. Lies were being hurled my direction at the speed of Chapman’s fastball during the 2010 minor league season. I felt the impact as each pitch hit its intended mark and chipped away at my confidence.

“You are not a real writer. You are not equipped. You have nothing to offer. No one will connect with your writing voice. God can’t use someone like you. Your past is too tainted. Your present is too messy. You are not enough. You should give up.”

“CRACK!” Each pitch struck my vulnerability with such force that my confidence was crippled by the fear that perhaps truth was found in these accusations.

My husband once told me that when an engine is built it is created to support a vehicle of specified weight. If the assembled vehicle surpasses the target weight for which the engine was constructed, the engine will fail. The Holy Spirit gently reminded me that there are some things that are too heavy for me to support. My calling is most certainly one of those things.

I believe that we are each assigned a calling that we will never see come to fruition without the active work of the Holy Spirit. We cannot hone our craft, pad our bank account, or work harder and longer and that be enough. This, sweet friends, is a relief. Our callings are not dependent on our work so much as they are our trust. On this day I mistakenly thought I had to carry the weight of my calling and it was too heavy for me; it’s too heavy for you as well. God desires for us to throw in the towel of self-reliance and anchor our trust securely in Him.

Your calling may be too big for you but it is not too big for Him. He knew exactly what He was doing when He placed the assignment on your life, and He knows the exact means to accomplish what He has purposed. Consider for a moment how Gideon must have felt when God said he would fight an army of tens of thousands with just three hundred soldiers or how David felt when he stood in front of a ninefoot giant with a slingshot and stones. Big callings; bigger God. Our job is not to figure out the “how”; it’s to trust in the “whom.”

2 Corinthians 3:4-6 says, “Such confidence we have through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant.” To the writer who doubts his or her worth, the single mom who is running low on sleep and resources, and those that feel their assignments are far too big – take heart. Our confidence and competence is anchored in Christ alone. Breathe in deeply and relax. God knows what He is doing.

